top of page

SPIRAL: nature-based principles for sustainable youth development



In late spring, 21-29 May 2021, the training of youth workers SPIRAL: principles for sustainable youth development rooted in nature took place in the small Bulgarian village of Gudevitza. Over twenty people from eight European countries (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Ireland, Italy, France, Cyprus, Romania, Spain) took part in the training. The cornerstones of the programme were self-discovery, physical activities, meditation and mindfulness, nature-based practices, dance and movement, singing and the use of the voice. The project was made possible thanks to the support of the Erasmus+ programme.



The needs of the world


The whole training process began with an awareness of the needs of all people and the ways in which these needs are met as identified by the training organisers Eleni Michail, Bogdan Romanică and Ognian Gadoularov in their research.


Needs:

- meaningful connections

- confidence

- authenticity

- purpose

- mastery

- learning

- well-being

- belonging


Fulfilling them:

- spiritual development

- positive worldview

- interconnection

- resilience

- active role in the community

- life purpose identification


But more than how these needs and their fulfilment are reflected in the young people and communities around us, we looked at how they are reflected in ourselves and our lives. We thought about where we come from and what are the gifts we carry with us. And not factually, but metaphorically. From what place in our soul, what situation we set out on the course, and what talents and abilities we have or want to develop.


There is potential in each of our gifts.

There is potential in each of us.

Eleni Mikhail


We also gave ourselves an intention for the week that we each wanted to develop and fulfil within ourselves. It was interesting to look for what that could be, while at the same time noticing the decisions of others. Based on that and other experiences, we set out to find our big picture, our vision of our life as we want it to be. A great task with great importance, but also with great support from the wisdom of previous generations and others.


My job is to love the world.

Mary Oliver



Bill Plotkin's archetypes


The entire program was built on Bill Plotkin's model of four archetypes, which asserts that the human personality consists of the following:


- innocent sage, trickster, sacred fool

- wild indigenous one

- muse beloved

- nurturing and generative adult


We encounter all four in our daily lives, but each of us prefers or has learned some type of behaviour as our typical response to a situation. However, in order for our lives to be in balance, we need to consciously use all four.


We tried various activities during the week that showed us the way to all the archetypes mentioned above, so that we could choose the ones that suit us best and then carry them with us into our personal lives.


Innocent sage, trickster, sacred fool

This archetype is characterized by lightness to levity, conscious presence, wisdom and vision. Activities that brought us closer to it were meditation, meditative walk with an open mind, expressing gratitude, and an hour of filling our minds with our craziest thoughts regardless of the nagging voices in our heads.


Wild indigenous one

Expressing unbridled wildness, returning to nature and roots, sexual energy and experiencing deep emotions. Under his umbrella, we explored nature, embodiment (bodily expression of emotions and experiences) and shared deep emotions.


Muse beloved

The enchantment of the muse has been known to humanity since ancient times. Humans are creative and imaginative just like this archetype. It loves mystery, imagination, transformation, symbols and magic. We have tried our hand at writing poetry, making music (whether through drums, singing or bathing in sounds, for example), telling stories, falling in love with ourselves.


Nurturing and generative adult

Adults are characterized by a strong need for belonging and a need to care for others, guiding and supporting them, but also healing and teaching them new things. We are guided by the archetype when hugging and sharing physical closeness, when talking to our Anam cara (soul friend), when writing a letter to ourselves, or when serving others in large and small ways.



A heart filled to the brim


My heart is imbued with the wind in the willows,

the mysterious mist that comes in the morning,

that shows the world to be an infinite place.


My heart is imbued with the sun reflecting on the sea,

turning every wave into a glittering treasure,

that is stored in the chest of my eyes.


My heart is imbued with a single drop of water,

that stuck on a leaf on a winter morning

hoping not to freeze.


My heart is imbued with the magic of nature,

when I witness it, when I am part of it,

when we are one.


My heart is imbued with love.



Lines of silver weaving my life story


From this process, several lines crystallized that I want to follow in my life:


- To find a lifestyle that would serve me

- asking what it is that I want for myself

- creating opportunities for myself to do what I want

- to lighten the burden of living by sharing


I know that I already have everything I need. I just need to realize it, reach for it and use it. I know I'm like a minotaur. Hidden in the labyrinth of my soul, full of determination to defend my territory and all that I love, but also aware that there is a wide world out there full of beauty that I am missing out on. That I just need to find the golden thread that will lead me there. Find it and have the courage to follow it.



Dear water


Dear water,

lead me to my source.

Guide me on my journey through life.

Lead me to my purpose,

to myself.


Let me follow you

from near and far.

Be my compass in the foggy forest,

let me find my compass within myself.


Comfort me, enlighten me, cleanse me.

Let the flashes on your surface become stars in my sky.


Fill me with your infinite wisdom,

that will draw me into my innermost being.


Dear water,

be my guide.

Lead me to yourself.



Each day a new challenge, a new purpose, a new connection between the old and the new. Every minute filled with new experiences, opportunities and unforgettable moments. Everything is beginning to connect as one. The reality of the Gudevitza bubble with the one that already eagerly awaits me at home. And even though I've made it through my seven-day detox without phone or internet, I know I can't put off leaving forever. I know that all good things come to an end. But I'm not leaving yet. Not defeated and sad. I walk with my head held high and my heart wide open. I know what I want in life, and what is harmful to me. Now just go and fight for it. To be that princess in my own estate that I've always dreamed of.


Not to do what we love

is like living half and half.



Lada Matyášová,

the one who explores the world and all the souls in it



bottom of page